New Jersey Road Rage Laws

Road Rage NJ

In February 15, 2020, an SUV driver with road rage followed another driver from New Jersey Turnpike and threw a brick into that driver’s passenger window when they were stopped on Old Trenton Road, according New Jersey 101.5. The victim, a 44 year-old driver, ended up with a broken and bleeding arm because of the brick that went through his passenger window. These kinds of incidences are more common than you think.

Thanks to the new road rage laws that have taken effect in New Jersey, drivers with road rage will face additional penalties. These laws were passed because of lobbying of a road rage victim called Jessica Rodgers. She was only 16 years old when she was paralyzed in a car accident caused by an aggressive driver. Jessica started lobbying for change when the driver that caused her injury was only sentenced to four months in jail.

What Is In The New Law

New Jersey Road Rage LawsThe new law considers road rage a third degree offense if it leads to a serious injury. That means that a road rage driver can serve 3 to 5 years in prison and pay up to $15,000 in fines if that driver end’s up hurting someone. People can also be charged with a simple assault if they knowingly or purposely cause another person bodily harm. Any person convicted for a simple assault charge faces 6 months in prison and fines of up to $1,000. The new road rage law defines road rage as driving that involves weaving in and out of traffic, tailgating, excessive lane changes, and speeding up without any warning. But these are driving maneuvers that often take place even when road rage is not involved. What this means is that the plaintiff may have to produce evidence to prove that the accident or incident where they were hurt was caused by a driver with road rage.

How To Deal With An Aggressive Driver

Road rage can lead to serious accidents that may leave victims with severe injuries. The following are tips for protecting yourself from road rage drivers:

  • Avoid tailgating or cutting people off because it may set off another driver and lead to a road rage incident
  • Don’t make eye contact with an aggressive driver to avoid making the situation worse
  • Let the driver behind you tailgating or honking pass so that they can hopefully move on or calm down
  • Ignore a driver that is making frustrated gestures at you
  • Realize that sometimes a driver that may look aggressive may be experiencing a medical emergency
  • Pull over if the aggressive driver is hostile and is on your tail, but do not get out of the car 
  • Call the police if the driver follows when you are pulling of the road

You May Need A Lawyer

You need a dedicated and compassionate lawyer if an aggressive driver hurts you or damages your property. Your lawyer can work to hold the responsible party accountable to the fullest extent of the law. The lawyer can also guide you during negotiations with insurance companies.

You may also be interested in…

  1. How To File Workers Comp Claim In New Jersey
  2. Workers Comp Injury Valuation – How Much is a Personal Injury Case Worth?
  3. New Jersey Personal Injury Attorney
Call Now ButtonClick to Call