Hit And Run NJ
An increasing number of New Jersey drivers leave the scene of their car accident without waiting for law enforcement to arrive. These are the cases that are often referred to as hit and run accidents. Sadly in a significant number of these accidents the driver leaves the scene when they clearly know that the victims have suffered serious injuries or severe property damage. Hit and run offenders often have numerous reasons for leaving the accident scene. You need the services of an experienced hit and run lawyer to fight for your rights in such situations.
What Legal Options Do You Have After A Hit And Run Accident
The legal options you have in a hit and run accident depends on the unique facts of your situation. Your lawyer can help you file a lawsuit against the driver that hit you if the police locate the hit and run driver. But the hit-and-run driver must have been at-fault for the accident for you to be able to sue. That is why communicating with a lawyer soon after the accident is a smart move. Your hit-and-run lawyer can investigate your accident and gather evidence that may be useful for your case. However, you may have to pursue money damages from your personal injury insurance coverage if the offending driver is not caught, or has no auto insurance. People who have uninsured motorist coverage can also receive more money to help with their medical expenses and property damage costs.
Penalties For Hit-and-Run Offenses
Hit and run is a serious offense in the state of New Jersey. The law requires drivers involved in a car accident to remain at the scene of the accident until the police show up. You should do this even if the accident was a fender bender where nobody got hurt. In a situation where someone dies or gets injured, the hit-and-run driver will face the following penalties if they get caught:
- License suspension for one year
- Up to 180 days in jail
- A fine of not less than $2,500 and not more than $5,000
- 8 points deducted from their driving record
The possible penalties for a hit-and-run driver that only causes damage to another vehicle include:
- Not less than $200 and not more than $400 in fines
- Or Prison time of not more than 30 days
- 2 points deducted from driving record
- A 6 month driver’s licenses suspension
Why Hit-and-Run Accidents Happen
Below are reasons why drivers leave the scene of the accident:
- The driver was drunk when the accident happened or was in possession of illegal substances and chose to leave the scene to avoid law enforcement
- The driver may leave the scene of a motorcycle, pedestrian or bicyclist accident because they have not realized they hit someone
- Drivers that have no insurance, have warrants, or have no valid drivers’ license may not stop because of fear
Hire a hit and run lawyer to negotiate with insurance companies on your behalf so that you can get your medical expenses and other damages covered.