How To Get A Police Report In New Jersey

How To Get A Police Report NJ

A New Jersey police report can act as evidence if you decide to sue the negligent driver that caused your accident. The report has information about the facts and circumstances of your crash that can be used by both the court and the insurance companies. But since New Jersey is a no-fault state, you don’t have to sue to get your accident related medical bills covered. Your own auto insurance will cover the medical expenses, lost income, and other losses related to your car accident. 

What Is A Crash Report?

How To Get A Police Report In New JerseyIndividuals in New Jersey must report every accident that causes injury, death, or over $500 of damage to the police, in writing, within 10 days. People involved in minor accidents or hit and runs can fill out the Motor Vehicle Accident Report and submit it to the NJ Department of Transportation. Following an accident you are required to call the police so that they can come to the scene of the accident and write a report. The police officer that responds to your call will include the following information in the report:

  • The date and location of the crash
  • What vehicles were involved
  • What caused the crash
  • Conditions that exist at the time
  • The telephone number, Insurance information, driver’s license number, and address of each driver involved in the accident
  • Basic information of passengers that were injured or killed
  • Witness information
  • Any traffic violation committed by the parties involved in the accident such as drunk driving and so on

Requesting A Crash Report

You have the right to inspect, copy, and purchase copies of your crash report in New Jersey.  You can get a copy of your crash report by doing the following:

  • You can go in person to the police department during normal business hours in the municipality where the accident occurred and request a copy 
  • You can mail in a request for a crash report and the police can respond by sending you a certified accident report through fax or mail at a fee. Download the request form online
  • With a $13 fee you can retrieve a police report online after providing certain information. 

In case your accident occurred on a toll road, you can purchase the crash report from www.BuyCrash.com after providing the date of the accident and the last name of the person involved. Accidents involving fatalities or government vehicles on the NJ Turnpike or GS Parkway can only be retrieved by contacting NJ Turnpike Authority directly at (732)442-8600 ext 2431.

Why You Need A Police Crash Report

Police reports are not often allowed in a court case because they are considered “hearsay”. That means they are inadmissible in a trial. The reason for this is that the police officer that made the report did not witness the actual accident. However, police reports can help your case by providing facts such as witnesses, dates, weather, and other useful information. Police records can be used during settlement negotiations with insurance companies.

You may also be interested in…

  1. When To Hire A Auto Accident Lawyer
  2. How To File NJ Workers Comp Claim
  3. Statute Of Limitations For Personal Injury In The State Of New Jersey
Call Now ButtonClick to Call